10 Indian Cricketers Who First Played Cricket and Then Became Politicians

top 10 cricketer who become politician
  • Many faces of cricket have also tried their hand in politics.
  • Many Indian players became leaders after retiring

Let’s know about 10 such Indian players who became cricketers to politicians

New Delhi. By the way, most cricketers become commentators or coaches after retiring from the game. But do you know that there are many players who, after saying goodbye to cricket, got down to play their innings on the field of politics? Today we will tell you about 10 such Indian players who after becoming the best in the world of cricket became leaders.

1- Sachin Tendulkar must have heard the name. The cricketer of India became the God of cricket. Sachin Tendulkar entered the field of politics after cricket. He accepted membership of Rajya Sabha in April 2012 and was sworn in as a member of Rajya Sabha in May.

2- Kirti Azad is a big name in the field of politics. In 1983, India won the World Cup for the first time. Kirti was part of the team. Kirti, who played 7 Tests and 25 ODIs, entered politics and won the Lok Sabha election from Darbhanga in Bihar on a BJP ticket. She is still a Lok Sabha MP from Darbhanga. By the way, his father Bhagwat Jha Azad has been the Chief Minister of Bihar. In such a situation, his arrival in politics was not so shocking.

3- Chetan Chauhan also entered the field of politics after cricket. Chetan contested and won Lok Sabha elections in 1991 and 1998 from Amroha in Uttar Pradesh. He is currently in full-time politics and is an MLA from Amroha. Along with this, he is also the Sports Minister of UP.

4- Navjot Singh Sidhu is the biggest name on the list of cricketers to become politicians. Sidhu won the Lok Sabha elections from Amritsar in 2004 and 2009 on a BJP ticket. But then he left the BJP and became a Congressman. Currently, he is a cabinet minister in Punjab

5- Former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin, also known as wrist magician, also chose the path of politics after cricket. Azhar joined Congress to enter politics and contested from Moradabad and won vigorously.

Read also: 10 Movies of Rishi Kapoor that Can Be Seen Again and Again

6- After retiring from the cricket pitch, Gautam Gambhir also landed in the political arena. The 2019 Lok Sabha elections were contested and won from East Delhi on a serious BJP ticket.

7- The next name on this list is Mohammad Kaif, the favorite of many. Kaif tried his hand at politics on a Congress ticket. He contested the Lok Sabha elections from Phulpur in UP in the year 2014.

8- Vinod Kambli is known to everyone. He also contested the Maharashtra Assembly elections from Lok Bharati Party in the year 2009 to become a leader. But he got frustrated on this front.

9- Sreesanth danced in the reality show after a premature cricket career ended due to IPL fixing, then contested the 2016 assembly elections in Kerala on a BJP ticket. He lost in the election.

10- Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, better known as Tiger, had become the captain of India’s Test team at the age of 21. Mansoor, who was involved in cricket, also tried his hand in politics. He contested the first assembly elections in 1971 from Pataudi State (Gurgaon) but lost.

Leave a Comment